All About Connections

Growing up, my mom has always told me how important it is to start and keep connections with people. At first, I would get so frustrated and annoyed with her because i didn’t think it was a big deal and that I could get jobs and internships simply by applying on my own. But over the years I realized that this is not always the case.

For example, I was able to get my Solaborate internship because I personally knew the boss. He saw my determination and thought I would be an essential asset to the team. I also knew the boss of my job as a front desk receptionist that I had over the past few years. I also knew many people on campus and that is how I found out about the Her Campus job and Duck Tv class.

Obviously, people are able to get jobs on their own because of their skill and past history. However, knowing more people and having a positive experience can take you a fare way. It is important to remember to be on your best behavior and show your personality every time you meet someone in a professional manner, and even in a personal one. it doesn’t hurt to keep these connections for future reference.

Leave a Reply

