Social Media: Appropriate or Not?

Ever since I received my first cell phone I was on all types of social media. This included Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest, and Snapchat. At the time, i was younger so it never occurred to me how important it was to keep things 100% classy. I never was the type to post anything that was not appropriate so that was not an issue, but I never extremely analyzed my pictures and tweets before I sent them out into the public.

Now, I am a Junior in college and I am very aware of the importance of keeping social media appropriate. I believe my sorority, Alpha Phi, is one of the main reasons for this. Sororities really stress the importance of professionalism when it comes to social media because we want others to see us as the classy women that we are.

Many people already know this, but I would like to point out that adults and bosses will always scroll through your social media before hiring you to see what you are like outside of the workplace. If you have something embarrassing posted then I promise you they will not hesitate to start looking for other people to hire. So please remember, think twice before posting absolutely anything on any website, because it will always be there for professionals to see.

Leave a Reply

